Home

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Tools of the Trade > Cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 04:36 AM   #1
gebo
Basic Member
 
gebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PT
Posts: 322
Canon 5D mark III now records RAW!

This is amazing, just wanted to share with you. Magic lantern team did it again!
Seems it will be possible on the 600D/t3i!



http://www.eoshd.com/content/10324/b...on-5d-mark-iii
gebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 05-13-2013, 05:07 AM   #2
8salacious9
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,333
thats insane, however i feel canon may start to step in at some point to stop this if they can.

but for the 600d? how would that be possible? i thought it was more likely on the 7d than the 600d? i have the 600d so this would be a godsend, however i doubt that it would be possible with its capabilities, but lets hope and pray eh.
8salacious9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:13 AM   #3
jax_rox
IndieTalk Moderator
 
jax_rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,875
It seems like it's going to be relatively difficult to get Canon DSLRs recording raw for an extended period of time without exploding but if they get this up and running it would be awesome - the images out of it already look great.

I'd be happy with HD raw, never mind 2k, 3k+
jax_rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:27 AM   #4
gebo
Basic Member
 
gebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PT
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8salacious9 View Post
...but for the 600d? how would that be possible? i thought it was more likely on the 7d than the 600d? i have the 600d so this would be a godsend, however i doubt that it would be possible with its capabilities, but lets hope and pray eh.
I also have a 600D.
About the 600D Andrew Reid wrote :

"Currently most of the action is being done on the 5D Mark III, once a reference version is finalised it will likely be ported to the 6D, 5D Mark II and even 600D. This is development code not finalised, not even Alpha yet. This is experimental code, just written."

Quote:
Originally Posted by jax_rox View Post
It seems like it's going to be relatively difficult to get Canon DSLRs recording raw for an extended period of time without exploding but if they get this up and running it would be awesome - the images out of it already look great.

I'd be happy with HD raw, never mind 2k, 3k+
These cameras weren't designed to shoot like this so I suppose heating would be an issue but Andrew wrote :

"Is heat an issue? Well I don’t know yet – I haven’t shot with it for long enough or in a hot enough place. The card and camera are warmer than normal, but that is to be expected considering the huge data rates generated by raw. I don’t know what – if any – implications for camera life this hack will have, but the sensor is always doing a raw video output in live view mode so sensor heat shouldn’t be any more of an issue than it was with ALL-I H.264 video."

All of this seems too good to be true but I hope he's right... I want my 600D to shoot 1080p RAW.
gebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:30 AM   #5
rayw
Basic Member
 
rayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: About a thousand years from now
Posts: 6,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by gebo View Post
I want my 600D to shoot 1080p RAW.
That'd be fine by me.
A full 2K might be NLE excessive for most one/two-man-show content producers.

Frankly, I'd like 1080p uncompressed on many more cameras since, as "Andrew" stated "... but the sensor is always doing a raw video output in live view mode so sensor heat shouldn’t be any more of an issue than it was with ALL-I H.264 video."
It'd be nice if an uncompressed option were available by other manufacturers.
rayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:50 AM   #6
brunerww
Basic Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 610
This is huge for the $3249 Canon 5D mark III's image quality (and perhaps for low-end Canons as well). Very good news for current 5D Mark III shooters.

And, as Andrew says, this could be bad news for the $2995 Blackmagic BMCC (and for the $12,000 Canon 1D C).

Never thought I'd say this, but I'm going to have to start saving my nickels for a 5D MkIII
brunerww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:16 AM   #7
gebo
Basic Member
 
gebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PT
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunerww View Post
This is huge for the $3249 Canon 5D mark III's image quality (and perhaps for low-end Canons as well). Very good news for current 5D Mark III shooters.

And, as Andrew says, this could be bad news for the $2995 Blackmagic BMCC (and for the $12,000 Canon 1D C).

Never thought I'd say this, but I'm going to have to start saving my nickels for a 5D MkIII
If they manage to implement this on the 5D Mark II that would mean that the technology to shoot RAW has been around for 5 years but Canon simply decided not to make it available. Let's see what happens in the next days...
gebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:30 AM   #8
gebo
Basic Member
 
gebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PT
Posts: 322
Some caomparisons between RAW and h.264:

Example 1

Canon 5D RAW
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6OKNxFpyAX0

Canon 5D h.264
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PvCRQ-haYYc


Example 2

Canon 5D RAW
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHcZwMB5gKs

Canon 5D h.264
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CANqYdhx_U
gebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:36 AM   #9
8salacious9
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by gebo View Post
If they manage to implement this on the 5D Mark II that would mean that the technology to shoot RAW has been around for 5 years but Canon simply decided not to make it available. Let's see what happens in the next days...
its always been available, but they wanted you to pay for it, also i believe it has something to do with licencing fees and classifications.

but if for the 600d we could record at least 30 seconds RAW in 1080p then thats good enough for me, I never shoot for that long when filming anyway.
8salacious9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:43 AM   #10
PaulGriffith
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
PaulGriffith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2,690
I still wouldn't call it "available" - it looks like it's right around the corner but it's because of newer technology that's available. The reason RAW is hard is because it's processor intensive and needs ton of bandwidth. Even with the fastest cards put there, they're only able to record around 30 seconds before it runs out of buffer. It's also still not 1080p, rather an anamorphic 1920x800ish.

It's cool, but don't but a 5DmkIII just yet if your heart is set on raw video.

Also, from everything I've read a 5DmkII version is unlikely, as is a version for any of the Rebel cameras because of processor speed and data bandwidth internally. The pro series are designed for machine gun mode raw images where it'll record many images per second and that's what's making this possible. The rebel? Not so much.

Now, 720p for as long as you want it easy on the 5DmkIII and might be able to trickle down to the slower cameras.
PaulGriffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:56 AM   #11
gebo
Basic Member
 
gebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PT
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGriffith View Post
I still wouldn't call it "available" - it looks like it's right around the corner but it's because of newer technology that's available. The reason RAW is hard is because it's processor intensive and needs ton of bandwidth. Even with the fastest cards put there, they're only able to record around 30 seconds before it runs out of buffer. It's also still not 1080p, rather an anamorphic 1920x800ish.

It's cool, but don't but a 5DmkIII just yet if your heart is set on raw video.

Also, from everything I've read a 5DmkII version is unlikely, as is a version for any of the Rebel cameras because of processor speed and data bandwidth internally. The pro series are designed for machine gun mode raw images where it'll record many images per second and that's what's making this possible. The rebel? Not so much.

Now, 720p for as long as you want it easy on the 5DmkIII and might be able to trickle down to the slower cameras.
It's working in 1080p and even 1920x1280 24p. Higher resolutions still have some drop frames. Looks promising.
gebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:25 AM   #12
jax_rox
IndieTalk Moderator
 
jax_rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,875
The other factor in terms of the sheer speed needed for this kind of thing is the 5D can record to CF cards which are a hell of a lot faster than SD cards used in the Rebel/(x)00D series.
jax_rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:28 AM   #13
RED ROBOT
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 425
Something tells me that people are making this a big deal but in couple of months nobody is actually going to use except maybe for certain shots .
RED ROBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:56 AM   #14
rayw
Basic Member
 
rayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: About a thousand years from now
Posts: 6,621
Screenshot Comp Between 1080p H.264 Compression & RAW

The comparison works best if you pull up both images on two different tabs and then just toggle between them. (A couple of CTRL+"+" key hits might help.)

H.264: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-2...%2520Still.jpg

RAW: https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-o...0p%2520RAW.jpg

FWIW, while noticeable, the detail difference is great but the underlying issue of dealing with "shifting blocks" when rendering subtle color gradations HAS NOT been resolved with the increased resolution.

While the car is still in the garage look at the red hood, full screen, 1080p.
In BOTH the compressed and the RAW there's still a lot of that blocky jumping around junk.






Screenshot @ ~0:03 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PvCRQ-haYYc

Screen shot @ ~ 0:37 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6OKNxFpyAX0

Last edited by rayw; 05-13-2013 at 09:59 AM.
rayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:57 AM   #15
jax_rox
IndieTalk Moderator
 
jax_rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickysFX View Post
Something tells me that people are making this a big deal but in couple of months nobody is actually going to use except maybe for certain shots .
Something tells me that the close this gets to some sort of release, the more and more we're going to hear that ridiculous phrase 'game changer'

If this does happen on some sort of reasonably useable level though, it's a pretty big deal for the DSLR kids (and let's face it - they're the most vocal on the internet )
jax_rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk