Home Your Ad Here

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Tools of the Trade > Cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2016, 10:03 PM   #16
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 4,253
A Hero 3+ Silver
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 12-25-2016, 06:26 AM   #17
Sweetie
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,227
Damn. Not a wise purchase. I hope it didn't cost you too much.
Sweetie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 08:35 AM   #18
WalterB
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rotterdam Area, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC View Post
Well, I now have the camera and discovered it doesn't have a built-in monitor like a DSLR.

There is a mini HDMI port on the camera. Can I get a mini HDMI to mini HDMI cable to hook it up to my Windows 8.1 Tablet and use the tablet as a monitor for the camera?
If your tablet has HDMI in that should be possible. Check those specs.
But I think your tablet and camera both have hdmi out.
WalterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 01:10 PM   #19
harmonica44
*
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 6,661
I don't like them as much cause the view is too wide, and there are no shutter speed controls, but I haven't used the latest models so maybe they have improved, since a couple of years ago?
harmonica44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 09:40 PM   #20
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterB View Post
If your tablet has HDMI in that should be possible. Check those specs.
But I think your tablet and camera both have hdmi out.
That turned out to be correct. I plugged the camera into an HDTV / monitor with a 19" display and HDMI input. And, that worked great. Only problem is, it takes away the poratbility. And, a monitor is needed to see what is being shot. I picked up a micro HDMI to HDMI cable to connect the two and it worked. Guess I will be looking on the Internet for a portable HDMI monitor that is battery operated to carry around as a monitor. I will also see about a bag to put everything in.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 12:09 AM   #21
Sweetie
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,227
I always shake my head when I hear people spending lots of money looking for fixes that could have been prevented if they just bought correctly the first time. Good luck in your search for your fix.
Sweetie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 01:22 AM   #22
jax_rox
IndieTalk Moderator
 
jax_rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,767
GoPro's do Wifi to your device of choice and can be somewhat monitored that way. The fact that they don't have a screen gives away their intended purpose - as a set and forget POV-style cam where you get what you get. They're not really designed as A cams (or B, or C cams for that matter).

You can get 'backpacks' for earlier GoPros which give you a monitor, but I believe comes at the cost of waterproofing... YMMV
jax_rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 04:56 PM   #23
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetie View Post
Damn. Not a wise purchase. I hope it didn't cost you too much.
Well, the camera is refurbished. So, I didn't pay the cost of a new camera.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 05:07 PM   #24
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by jax_rox View Post
GoPro's do Wifi to your device of choice and can be somewhat monitored that way. The fact that they don't have a screen gives away their intended purpose - as a set and forget POV-style cam where you get what you get. They're not really designed as A cams (or B, or C cams for that matter).

You can get 'backpacks' for earlier GoPros which give you a monitor, but I believe comes at the cost of waterproofing... YMMV
I am beginning to think instead of Wi-Fi, they actually mean Bluetooth. I can't get it to connect to my Wi-Fi router and the router can't find it. They give a default password to "connect it to the network." That's not how Wi-Fi devices are connected. That's Bluetooth. And, so far, it's not connecting to the Bluetooth.

This is the first digital video camera I ever bought without a built-in monitor. So, it took me by surprise. But, in life, we have to roll with the punches.

I am considering a Marshall battery powered 7" camera monitor made for HD video cameras with a HDMI input. That would make the camera useful. I still think it can be useful for cyborg robo vision POV footage. It encompasses all the suggestions of DPs and people on this boards suggestions for how robots and cyborgs see the world through their eyes.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 09:03 PM   #25
Sweetie
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,227
Quote:
I am beginning to think instead of Wi-Fi, they actually mean Bluetooth.
This isn't exactly tech accurate, but think of it like the Camera setting up its own network so your phone/tablet can log into the cameras wifi network. AFAIK it cannot log into your wifi network.
Sweetie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 07:08 AM   #26
WalterB
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rotterdam Area, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetie View Post
This isn't exactly tech accurate, but think of it like the Camera setting up its own network so your phone/tablet can log into the cameras wifi network. AFAIK it cannot log into your wifi network.
This.
Accurate enough
It's not a device that communicates with a network. However, it can communicate with your smartphone.
It does a lag and the signal can break up easily.

Check the Manual (of all your devices).
In this thread you tried to get a signal into a device through the HDMI out and you just tried to let your router talk to a GoPro that doesn't really speak 'router'.
WalterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk