Home
Your Ad Here

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Making The Film > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2019, 08:05 AM   #16
Feutus Lapdance
Basic Member
 
Feutus Lapdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nederland
Posts: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by itarumaa View Post
I have been using Davinci Resolve for feature editing and it's ok, but I do like more of Adobe Premiere. Davinci Resolve is quite unstable and keeps on crashing all the time. But it's also free and does have a lot of options to choose from.
Is it because of your PC specs? I did a 32RAM Upgrade and no more crashing.
Feutus Lapdance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 02-01-2019, 08:21 AM   #17
itarumaa
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feutus Lapdance View Post
Is it because of your PC specs? I did a 32RAM Upgrade and no more crashing.
Maybe, I have 8gb of RAM.
itarumaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 10:24 AM   #18
AcousticAl
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by itarumaa View Post
Maybe, I have 8gb of RAM.
And there’s your problem. BlackMagic recommends a minimum 16GB for Resolve, and ideally 32GB.
AcousticAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 05:07 PM   #19
sonnyboo
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
sonnyboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 3,517
Idea

Quote:
Originally Posted by itarumaa View Post
I have been using Davinci Resolve for feature editing and it's ok, but I do like more of Adobe Premiere. Davinci Resolve is quite unstable and keeps on crashing all the time. But it's also free and does have a lot of options to choose from.
I definitely prefer Adobe Premiere Pro.

DaVinci Resolve Free has an inhibitor in that it does everything CPU render and not GPU enhanced. The "pro" version of the software will use your graphics card for rendering.
sonnyboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 04:16 PM   #20
miket482000
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1
What do you all think of Hit-film Pro? I am thinking of getting it as I do compositing as well as editing, and I really cant justify Adobes BS subscription based system! Add to that the fact that they are actively pushing out people that have purchased their software in the past makes me feel that adobe is less than ethical!
miket482000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 04:40 PM   #21
Feutus Lapdance
Basic Member
 
Feutus Lapdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nederland
Posts: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnyboo View Post
I definitely prefer Adobe Premiere Pro.

DaVinci Resolve Free has an inhibitor in that it does everything CPU render and not GPU enhanced. The "pro" version of the software will use your graphics card for rendering.
Ow...there are many more restrictions. You need a Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K to have a second screen. Also in the free version of Resolve will not play some of the pro camera footage like the FS7 and FS5. I also think the free version has problems with the RED cameras.

I think the price of Pro Resolve is smaller than one year of premaire .... It costed me 256,- euro Premaire wil cost 29,99 a month so x 12 = 359,88 and the next year 359,88 and the next.... Resolve Pro and al the future Resolves will free to upgrade to the next lvl as long as Blackmagic will be in business.
Feutus Lapdance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk