Home

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Making The Film > Post Production

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2018, 06:52 AM   #1
novicegarlic
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: California
Posts: 1
What's the best free video editing program? One that can export the video.

I've downloaded all sorts of programs, all the free ones just suck, you can't cut the scenes, and all the good ones you need to download the pro version in order to export the project into a video, it's really annoying. Is there a good free one that actually works that lets you export it to a video? Thanks.
novicegarlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 06-06-2018, 07:34 AM   #2
Feutus Lapdance
Basic Member
 
Feutus Lapdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nederland
Posts: 490
Resolve 15

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...ciresolve/edit
Feutus Lapdance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 03:10 PM   #3
sfoster
IndieTalk Moderator
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 5,311
I tried to use resolve on my new desktop and it crashed on me
I need to devote a day to figuring it out, theoretically i should be able to run it on my gpu

I second the suggestion I just haven't had any luck yet myself
sfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 04:02 PM   #4
Feutus Lapdance
Basic Member
 
Feutus Lapdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nederland
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfoster View Post
I tried to use resolve on my new desktop and it crashed on me
I need to devote a day to figuring it out, theoretically i should be able to run it on my gpu

I second the suggestion I just haven't had any luck yet myself
Hmmmm.... I have to witness any crashes jet, but I notice that he becomes slow when I'm in the coller tab. Think that exra Ram and video-card will be a good investment next. Premiere on the other hand has sometimes problems when I use big block of warp stabilization.
Feutus Lapdance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 04:09 PM   #5
Runlevel Two
Basic Member
 
Runlevel Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 62
I use Blender VSE. Yes, rendering times are slow, and yes, it has a steep learning curve. But the first issue can be resolved easily by using a freely available plug in, and the second by taking some time to watch one of many great tutorials on YouTube (check out Mikeycal Meyers and Cerbyo). Just try it. It's free, multi-platform, and simply great.


Last edited by Runlevel Two; 06-06-2018 at 04:16 PM. Reason: Added screenshot
Runlevel Two is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 06:00 PM   #6
Kaiborg
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runlevel Two View Post
I use Blender VSE. Yes, rendering times are slow, and yes, it has a steep learning curve. But the first issue can be resolved easily by using a freely available plug in, and the second by taking some time to watch one of many great tutorials on YouTube (check out Mikeycal Meyers and Cerbyo). Just try it. It's free, multi-platform, and simply great.

You really use Blender for editing?

I love it, and use it a lot for motion graphics and VFX... but I think I'd probably die of a combined stroke/migraine if I tried to use it for editing. It seems like it'd be overkill.
Kaiborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 06:21 PM   #7
shortboy
Basic Member
 
shortboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 267
I have one friend that used to use After Effects as his primary editor. But that's beside the point. In terms of best, it's whatever can accomplish your needs.
shortboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 02:48 PM   #8
Runlevel Two
Basic Member
 
Runlevel Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiborg View Post
You really use Blender for editing?
Yes, I do. And I wouldn't want to use anything else. It's my Swiss army knife when it comes to video editing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiborg View Post
... but I think I'd probably die of a combined stroke/migraine if I tried to use it for editing. It seems like it'd be overkill.
It isn't. Just try it and you will know.
Runlevel Two is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 02:49 PM   #9
Runlevel Two
Basic Member
 
Runlevel Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by novicegarlic View Post
I've downloaded all sorts of programs, all the free ones just suck, you can't cut the scenes, and all the good ones you need to download the pro version in order to export the project into a video, it's really annoying. Is there a good free one that actually works that lets you export it to a video? Thanks.
Just curious: "all the free ones just suck" - which ones did you try?
Runlevel Two is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 02:59 PM   #10
Feutus Lapdance
Basic Member
 
Feutus Lapdance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nederland
Posts: 490
I'm curious if we ever hear of him again....
Feutus Lapdance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 03:46 PM   #11
Kaiborg
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runlevel Two View Post
It isn't. Just try it and you will know.
I have, and it's no bueno. Like I said, I use it extensively for everything else, just not for editing. Glad it works for you, though.
Kaiborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 03:51 PM   #12
Runlevel Two
Basic Member
 
Runlevel Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 62
Okay, fair enough. To each his own.
Runlevel Two is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 06:12 PM   #13
BazTheHat
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Honiton, UK
Posts: 65
I've been getting to grips with Avid Media Composer First lately. It's a bit of a learning curve but works ok on my audio computer.
BazTheHat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:29 AM   #14
Runlevel Two
Basic Member
 
Runlevel Two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by BazTheHat View Post
I've been getting to grips with Avid Media Composer First lately. It's a bit of a learning curve but works ok on my audio computer.
For me, being limited to only four video tracks, six audio tracks and up to five bins, and not being able to output 4K, is a downright showstopper. It could work for YouTube vloggers but not if you're into serious filmmaking.
Runlevel Two is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 07:42 AM   #15
BazTheHat
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Honiton, UK
Posts: 65
Quote:
For me, being limited to only four video tracks, six audio tracks and up to five bins, and not being able to output 4K, is a downright showstopper. It could work for YouTube vloggers but not if you're into serious filmmaking.
If you're into making films seriously you wouldn't be using a free piece of software....
BazTheHat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk