Home Your Ad Here

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Making The Film > On The Set

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2016, 06:43 AM   #1
harmonica44
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 6,661
How come clapper boards don't have 'shot' written on them?

Basically on a clapper board it has 'scene' and 'take'.

But a scene has more than one shot in it. You will want a master shot, as well as CUs, and OTSs for example.

But the clapper board does not include shot written on it. Why is that, I was wondering?
harmonica44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today   #1A
film guy
Basic Member
 
Posts: 17

 
Old 12-22-2016, 08:10 AM   #2
AcousticAl
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon
Posts: 517
Because the scene also designates the shot.

5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, and 5E are all different shots in the same scene. Some people start simply with the number (Scene 5) for the master shot, then add letters for any of the additional shots. Others start with A as the master shot.

Last edited by AcousticAl; 12-22-2016 at 08:14 AM.
AcousticAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 09:08 AM   #3
WalterB
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rotterdam Area, The Netherlands
Posts: 3,443
http://nofilmschool.com/2015/05/how-...dnt-slate-ever
WalterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 05:03 PM   #4
DeJager
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
DeJager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticAl View Post
Because the scene also designates the shot.

5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, and 5E are all different shots in the same scene. Some people start simply with the number (Scene 5) for the master shot, then add letters for any of the additional shots. Others start with A as the master shot.
This.

Every camera angle change we make we just add a different letter behind the scene number.
DeJager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 05:09 PM   #5
jax_rox
IndieTalk Moderator
 
jax_rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,834
Different parts of the world have different ways of slating - but generally, slates don't have a shot for the reasons given above. Any that are different are often custom-made/custom labelled for the production
jax_rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 05:21 PM   #6
Rayandmigdalia
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 210
Another application would be on a one-take interview or event where multiple cameras are used.
All cameras would zoom in to (one) slate for syncing purposes in case your time code is not working or unavailable. The editor would use the slate to find the same point on each camera...especially useful during a musical number.
Rayandmigdalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 02:27 AM   #7
harmonica44
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 6,661
Okay thanks. I have been writing it like scene 5A, 5B, etc. So I'll just keep doing that then. Thanks.
harmonica44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


©IndieTalk