Home

Go Back   IndieTalk - Indie Film Forum > Making The Film > Post Production
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2012, 09:22 PM   #1
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 5
Question Removing Reverb From ADR

The ADR came back from the studio we recorded in. It has some reverb.

Are there any tricks or techniques to remove it?

Our star actor from Serbia emailed me text book perfect ADR. Her's is way better than what we got from the studio. The studio stuff we used looks much poorer quality than what I got from Serbia.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is online now   Reply With Quote




Old 05-03-2012, 10:22 PM   #2
Alcove Audio
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
Alcove Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 6,233
Blog Entries: 4
Why aren't you using the Serbian tracks?

As far as reverb removal...

http://www.cedar-audio.com/products/dns/dns.html (Can be rented for about $150/day) Someone who knows what they're doing can work wonders with this.

There are a few other plug-ins that you can try, but the results are very hit and miss.

http://spl.info/index.php?id=463

http://www.sonicstate.com/news/2010/...everb-remover/

http://www.tacsystem.com/en/products...res/000563.php
Alcove Audio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:42 PM   #3
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 5
I am using the Serbian tracks. But, they are only for one character. The rest was done in a local recording studio.

Thank you Alcove
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:56 PM   #4
Alcove Audio
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
Alcove Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 6,233
Blog Entries: 4
And that's why you should have come to my place...
Alcove Audio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:25 AM   #5
knightly
IndieTalk Moderator
 
knightly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 8,159
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via AIM to knightly Send a message via Skype™ to knightly
Redo with lots of sound blankets surrounding the actor, make sure the room is dampened as well, put a sound blanket under their feet... Then mic them closer. It's prohibitively expensive at your/my level to get rid of reverb. It overlaps the main dialog with the same frequencies and taints the signal that can't be removed without ridiculously expensive software/hardware that need a professional audio engineer to use well.

Echos and reverb in microphone are almost as important to avoid as clipping. The goal (as always) is to get pristine dialog audio that you can then add effects to to make it sound right for the environment shown on screen/ on set recordings. The studio should have provided you clean dialog - the point of doing ADR.
__________________
YAFI Underground, please like and/or subscribe:
Website - Youtube - Facebook
knightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:49 AM   #6
NoiseNinja
Basic Member
 
NoiseNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 36
There is a new De-Reverberation plugin. I have not tried it but the demo video is cool. I use PC and it is MAC only for now.

http://www.zynaptiq.com/unveil/

Kurt Kroh
NoiseNinja
NoiseNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:17 AM   #7
Blade_Jones
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
The ADR came back from the studio we recorded in. It has some reverb.
Whose idea was it to print reverb??????
Blade_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:43 AM   #8
LasVegasIRA
Premiere Member
 
LasVegasIRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 482
I agree with knightly. Redo the ADR, but do it yourself. I've gotten good sounding looping done with an SM-57 and Audacity before. The trick to making the ADR work is how you layer your sound (especially the ambient sound) in the edit.

I've always found properly sound editing a shot is harder and more time consuming than editing the video...
LasVegasIRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:21 AM   #9
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 5
Okay, I bought a De Verb plig-in.

It really helps mild cases of reverb. Some of my ADR has a really bad case of reverb. So, thinking outside the box, I went back to the original on location recordings. Jenn, the actress who plays Summer Storm has a powerful voice that carries. I lowered the volume of her voice on the original recordings, which also lowered the background wind. By adding a new layer of stock wind blowing ambience across the scene, it blends into the wind. Summer Strom and Artemis have the most dialogue and worse cases of reverb. There are a couple of takes with Artemis I had to use the ADR and the reverb still is evident. Roberta's perfect ADR fixed her character's dialogue very well.

I have Angela Bruno's one line fixed with a treated ADR take. I'm still waiting on Gail Storm's two lines of ADR. So, I removed the wind with Bias Sound Soap and the new softer layer of wind blended it in.

If I get time this week, I'll upload the new version to vimeo.

There was too much rain last week to get on location ambience to replace stock wind blowing.

Guys, thank you so much for all the great suggestions.

Last edited by Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC; 05-07-2012 at 10:55 AM.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
Alcove Audio
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
Alcove Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 6,233
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade_Jones View Post
Whose idea was it to print reverb??????
Morons.

ADR is supposed to be drier than the Sahara Desert.
Alcove Audio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:57 AM   #11
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 5
I won't be doing ADR in that studio again. I learned a hard lesson. It's okay for narrations. But, not for ADR.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:13 AM   #12
Alcove Audio
Basic - Premiere Expired
 
Alcove Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 6,233
Blog Entries: 4
Even narration should dry, dry, dry. You can always add reverb if you need to, and todays reverbs are incredibly realistic.
Alcove Audio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:42 AM   #13
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC
Premiere Member
 
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rego Park, NY
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 5
True!

I have some good preset reverbs for dream effects and narrations with SoundForge.
Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:45 PM   #14
rocksure
Basic Member
 
rocksure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modern Day Myth Prod. LLC View Post
I won't be doing ADR in that studio again. I learned a hard lesson. It's okay for narrations. But, not for ADR.
Was it reverb from a processor that was added, or "poor sounding room reflections" type reverb from the space where it was recorded? If it's from a processor, can you get the original track recordings off them without the reverb? If it's from the room itself, then that's not a good buzz from the studio at all.
rocksure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:48 PM   #15
SérgioMiguelSilva
Basic Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oporto - Portugal
Posts: 66
Hi!

http://thesounddesignprocess.wordpre...ue-recordings/

It is not about removing reverb from ADR recordings, but maybe can be useful.
SérgioMiguelSilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

©2003-2013 IndieTalk