Non-disclosure statement

I am considering a JV with a fellow filmmaker, and his attorney wants us to sign a non-disclosure statement before they read my script. Anyone have a generic non-disclosure statement I can use as a template?

wC

I did the google first, but found nothing worth using. Fortunately I had another filmmaker send a good template.

I am a writer, but not a lawyer.

Thanks anyway.

WC

Coot Dog,

Funny thing about the SonnyBoo example; It's in pdf form, which cannot be changed due to the lack of the writing software for Adobe Acrobat.

The SonnyBoo example is a good one, but it also is used for a "writer to producer" contract, not a joint venture, so we went to his lawyer for a mutual non-disclosure statement. He had a boilerplate one we could adapt easily.

I didn't mean to sound ungrateful. I knew that any too generic statement would be just as worthless as signing nothing. When it comes to adapting or changing something not really very close to legalese, you ask for trouble.

The funny thing about this is that the other filmmaker/producer (Keith) and I don't feel the need to sign anything; just a Texas handshake between us is more binding. But since his attorney insisted, we are signing it just for the lawyer's sake and to keep the peace. No sense starting off on the wrong foot.

Producing is paperwork heavy, so this is just the start of a long paper trail.

Thank you all for your help.

WC

Actually, you SHOULD have a contract with your partner. You can ask SonnyBoo about that one. You never know what the future may hold and if you and your partner part ways, he could take the film, or at least stop you from using/showing/anything it.

And yes, when you're making a deal with the lawyer it has to be all spelled out. I'm making a proposal to one now.. every i dotted and t crossed.

legal paperwork

Coot Dog,