Location permission denied for documentary

I am producing a documentary and this is my first time as the producer on my own project. I am going to be following some people around and I requested permission to film at their hotel. It's important because I can't just tell the people to switch hotels, its their real-life situation. I expained that I will be filming people who have given me permision to film them. I won't need any special accomidations, I will only be using a small video camera. So I faxed in the release forms call them up the next week and the manager tells me I can't film there for security reasons. He won't elaboarate what the security concerns are. Just that I can't film there and I can't talk to the owner who finalized the decision either.:huh: So now I want to know if anyone has any advice for re-negoting with the hotel and manager.

One more thought.

If I only film in the rooms rented to the people I have expressed permission to film. I could argue that the rooms are their domicile, those rooms are controlled by those people on that particular day. Just like if I agreed to have someone come in and film in my apartment not at the exterior. I would not need permission from management or the owners (which happens to be the US Army in my case).

Even if you film inside an apartment, you need the landlord's/owner's permission. He is the owner of the property, inside or out doesn't matter. However, it's much easier to pull off guerrilla style inside the apartments.

Indietalk.. person of few words... BUT he's right!

You should ask them what assurences they need from you in order to film. However, if you're not saying where they are staying, and not showing anything that will cause viewers to recognize the hotel, then you might be able to get away with it, gorilla style.

However, legally, I believe that if you're shooting on private property, you need permission. Public property, you don't.