Fencing

Hey guys,

I was just noticing in Clive's Glidecam thread that there seem to be several people around here who fence or who have fenced. I didn't want to hijack the original thread so I figured I'd start a fresh one. =)

Knighly, sounds like you currently fence? Do you have a weapon you study more than others?

Clive, you should take up fencing again if you get a chance! Things have changed in foil a bit since you were last involved (at least here in the US... damn USFA...) but it's pretty much the same. I think the changes are mostly with regard to electric equipment such as pressure required to set off the tip etc, time-out stuff etc.

Anyone else fence? I've been fencing on and off for the last 4 years or so. Lots of fun though paying for equipment and movies while being a broke college student has been interesting. :lol: Right now I'm focusing fairly heavily on the Epee. I'm sort of a strange person I guess as I choose to use a french grip when fighting epee instead of a pistol grip. I'm still not sure what I like best for foil.

Haven't worked much with Saber really. Its a style of weaponry I'd almost rather work with under more realistic circumstances such as Kendo. Still undecided about my opinion of sabre.

BTW, has anyone read Aldo Nadi's book on fencing? Besides being a genius, the account he gives of his real life duel is riviting!

Here's the section from "On Fencing" by Aldo Nadi that recounts his person duel. READ THIS! Absolutely fascinating to read - this guy is maybe the best fencer of all time and his personality really shows. You don't need to know anything about fencing to read this! I'm quite certain that this is legal as it was written about 1920, is now out of print as far as I know and in the public domain.

----------------

The difference between the duelist's and the fencers psychology is best appreciated "on the ground"

In Europe, I had one exciting personal experience.