ipod as my storage space? Good idea, Bad idea?

. Im looking for a external hard drive. I work on a G5 mac but, dont want to save video on the internal hard drive. what would be good for video. Im gonna try and get one off ebay. on a tight budget. any suggestions? How about the new 60gb video ipod? its priced at $399 but with its features its a good investment. im pretty new to video so heres the Video capacityon the ipod maybe some one could help me., it is based on 4 minutes per H.264 750-Kbps video combined with 128-Kbps audio. Is that good for storing. Some distortion maybe?

you would be storing files on the iPod as if it were a hard drive. The drive itself is slow, so it'll work as a storage drive, but not necessarily one to edit from. They used them to transfer file to peter jackson during lord of the rings. remember that if you only have one copy of the data, a corrupt hard drive will ruin your day.

i've had the best luck w/ LaCie, especially for Mac, but another option is to buy a case for an external hard drive, and then get a nice big internal HD to put in it. Depending on your project size, you will probably need anywhere from 90-300 gB, and DON'T FORGET TO BUY A FIREWIRE NOT USB, YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID!

p.s. sidenote: if you get a LaCie (and this may apply to other drives too, I'm not sure) MAKE SURE TO UNPLUG IT BEFORE INSTALLING ANY MAJOR UPDATES TO OSX!!! (I learned this the hard way)

Isn’t video stored on the iPod very compressed? I would think the iPod is really for watching video on the go, not storing footage. And at about $6.60 per gig, it’s very expensive. External drives are running under a buck a gig now.

I have five Neptune drives. I haven’t had a single problem with any of them and I use them pretty hard. I have one Maxor - it too, works well. My one LaCie crashed and died on me.

if you're storing the video to be watched on the ipod, then yes...it's very heavily compressed video.