Sony DCR-VX2100 vs. Panasonic AG-DVX100

Hi,
Can someone please help me on what camera to buy. I am looking for a good prosumer camcorder for Multimedia projects. I know that the Panasonic has 24fps movie capture and the Sony has good low light quality. I heard that the Panasonic has a very steep learning curve? I am a novice and just getting started. I am interested in 24fps. How big is the difference between 30fps and 24fps in quality. Is 24fps necessary for a good quality output. What about the Canon GL2 ( can't afford the XL2)?
Thanx to all the video pros.
InteractGrafix

What is your intended output?

Both are good cameras for different reasons.

In the end, the DVX100a is best for cinema whereas the 2100 is best for broadcast and documentaries as well as other projects.

24fps is necessary to emulate the frame rate of film, in a step to get a more filmlike output. TV news, and almost every other outlet is 30fps. DVD can display both.

Basically, if you are just starting out, almost any DV camera will be OK for you, but it depends on what you need it for - theres a big difference between a funny web clip at 320x240 res and a cinema piece that is going to be projected to 50' or larger at festivals.

Panasonic vs. Sony

Thank you WideShot for your prompt response. Great Forum. We will be outputting on CD/DVD for PC fullscreen 1024x768 display and TV. We will also do some Corporate Videos as well and documentaries of scenic places (National Parks). As I understand from your point of view, the Sony would be a good quality camera?
Thanx again.

I would most definitely choose the 2100 for that type of application. Again, its not as though either camera (actually probably 10 models come to mind) couldn't do the job, but the 2100 is a very good choice, its the little brother of the PD150 which is an industry standard.