Sundance Vs. Slamdance

Kitch_Man said:
This is a post for the more experienced filmmakers/festival attendies...

I am an indie filmmaker in post on my first feature lenght project. I am wondering if any of the vetrans could answer a couple of festival submission questions for me?

1. Do you see any problems arrising in the fact that we want to submit to both the 2006 Sundance and Slamdance Festivals as our "World Premier"? (...on the fact that they run Simultaneously...I am thinking that the likelyhood of being selected to both is remote, but you never know.)
You could only HOPE that you have this problem!
2. Since a Film's 'Virginity' at it's frist festival screening is of most importance, would you suggest that, at this point, we state on all applications that it shall be our "World Premier," up until that point that we recieve notice that the film has been 'selected' to be screened at a fest?
Yes. Until you have been accepted and screened it's a world premier. If both festivals accept you then you have a wonderful, enviable problem that I wish to have with my movie.
3. Do you know if festivals, in their selection process, shy away from films that have recently screened at another fest? If so, what kind of a submission strategy would you suggest?
Some do, some don't. You gotta read the submission rules carefully.

I'm only submitting to Slamdance and Santa Barbara this time around. I don't have much interest in Sundance and I chose Santa Barbara because it's a great festival and I grew up there - thought that might give me an edge. But if I get into Slamdance I lose my premier status as SB so I risk not getting shown there at all.

I also entered Ann Arbor (where two of my shorts won several years ago) - but they don't have a premier requirement. So check the rules.

Good luck and welcome to indietakl!

Kitch_Man said: