Public Grants vs. Private Investment

I have been making documentaries, chiefly for National Geographic and The Discovery Channel, for about 6 years. I am embarking now on my first independent documentary film. It is a 90-minute feature documentary that I would like to have a theatrical release here in the U.S.

Since I’ve never had to worry about financing my work, I’m a complete novice to the art. In my ignorance, I thought I would fund the film through a combination of private investment, corporate sponsorship, foundation grants and government grants.

I have just had my first conversation with a state humanities council, and it appears that the same film cannot get both public and private money, because investors are looking for a profit, and federal and state agencies will only consider applications from a non-profit for a non-for-profit project.

I had no idea these sources of funding were mutually exclusive. Is this in fact the case, that you either intend for your film to turn no profit (in which case, do only independently wealthy people make independent films?), or you must secure all your financing from private sources?

I’d be interested in hearing the fruits of others’ experience here in the U.S.

Thanks a lot.

Paul S.

I
have just had my first conversation with a state humanities council, and it appears that the same film cannot get both public and private money, because investors are looking for a profit, and federal and state agencies will only consider applications from a non-profit for a non-for-profit project.

...first, this is not necessarily so. State agencies are nonprofit so they are looking to keep this nonprofit standing. They consider applications but what you often have are stipulations in order for the particular grant to be available to you.

In the state of Michigan, I posted this before somewhere..., If you want a grant from the state, you must