• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Looking for a critique.

Hey, sorry it's been awhile. I've had a bad month. I planned on posting this last month but life got in the way with a death at work, then a near death, then I became suddenly ill, and once recovered had back writing to catch up with.

Anywho, I've developed my first short script. It's eight pages counting title page. I worry that it's a little too long.

What I'm looking for is, first and foremost a critique, of my format. This is my first time writing in the script style. I've done more non-fiction and fiction writing before that. You also may find some minor gramatical errors. I haven't had a second pair of eye slook at this yet. So I may have missed some small errors. That's what editors are for anyway. :P

The story opens with a man going through his day. The individual scenes are supposed to convey some sense of the masculine identity. Strength, endurance, compassions, wit, intelligence, consideration, heroism, etc. I hope through the opening sections that the audience begins to identify with the character who I name CHARLIE after the character from Flowers for Algernon. Something that can be a challenge in the short format because there isn't much time for the audience to make that connection.

The twist is when the character returns home and the audience gets to see how the character is treated by his girlfriend. It flips all of the qualities that were previously imprinted on the viewer. It's meant to be a shock.

I tried to write something that everyone involved in the script might find interest in. Something that an actor would want to act, a director would want to shoot, and an audience would want to see. I also wanted to do something a little different by changing percieved roles and avoiding the common like direct physical violence.