Nikon R10 vs. Canon 814 XLS

I'm a total noob to the 8mm scene. I've been reading up on several sites. And It seems like those two are always on the recommendation list of cameras.

Can people share the pros and cons of those cameras? Also the price range I should be paying?

Thanks for the help.

Both are good. There's also the 1014 XLS, a step above the 814. I think FilmJumper has owned both, so he'd be the best to comment.

Here's a nice little writeup on the Canon 814 xls

http://home.pacbell.net/mnyberg/super8mm/super8_25.html

Actually, the site has lots of great Super-8 stuff on it. :cool:

...and here's the scoop on the R8 & R10

http://home.pacbell.net/mnyberg/super8mm/super8_33.html

_______

I have a Canon 814 AZ, btw
smiley_dance.gif

I own both (and the 1014). I've used both.

I like the R10 better. Can't really say why - they're both terrific cameras. It seems to me the Nikon is quieter. I like the balance of the Nikon when shooting hand held and it looks cool.

My all time fav Super8 camera is the Beaulieu 4008ZM4. An amazing lens, great optics and smooth shutter.

But of the two you mention - I like the Nikon marginally better than the Canon.

Thanks directorik! I am probably going to own both camera at one point. With my current budget, I just wanted to know which one I should get first.

4008zm4 eh? That's interesting... I'm not very familiar with Beaulieu at all. Can you tell me more about it?

I've got all three... The R10, 1014XLS, and 814XLS.

All really outstanding Super8 cameras...

One of my 1014's has crystal sync so I won't talk about that one as much... I have to say that I really like the Canon over the Nikon. I think it's built a little better i.e., a little more bulletproof.

About 13 years ago, one of my 1014's microphone cable (yeah, I was shooting sound film) got caught around the bumper of a Jeep. The Jeep took off and took the 1014 and tripod with it...