Choosing non vs. profit status?

I'm a relatively new filmmaker (recently sold my first doc, self produced, to a major cable network) trying to get a film financed about an amazing group of elder musicians (the great soul organists, ie Jimmy Smith, Jimmy McGriff). I'm trying to figure out which way to go commercial vs. non-profit. I figure I need about $300,000 to make this film. What happens if one goes the non-profit route and then the film actually makes a profit?

It's my belief that the film would be serving a significant historical need in documenting the lives of this aging group and this fading style of music.

Any thoughts, I'm all ears!

Seth

Well I am in the process of forming a NPO right now. There's a lot to it. Just because you have a NPO doesn't mean you don't make money. I know someone who has an NPO that makes over $7,000,000 per year. It's more of a tax structure... But being an NPO, you can get "donations" easier.

Good luck - I loved Jimmy Smiths old Blue Note records. I think he died somewhat recently, that whole generation is leaving. I saw Sonny Rollins here last year, he just amazing that at his age he still had the breath.

I have a couple of questions about forming an NPO over an LLC.

Scenario one: I’m an investor willing to put $250,000 into a movie. I narrow it down to two projects I like. Project 1 is a standard LLC asking for an investment. Project 2 is an NPO asking for a donation.

What is my incentive to donate rather than invest?

Seems that if Project 1 fails I can use my investment as a tax writeoff and move on. Same as Project 2.

But if Project 1 turns into Blair Witch or Open Water I see some profit. Do I see profit like that if Project 2 takes off?

Are there any creative limits to starting an NPO? Can an NPO make purely commercial products like horror movies?