Cameras and Film Question

to To start out there’s that question that every aspiring (or in my case pretending) filmmaker asks, What camera do I buy? I need four hundred foot rolls, I would like to spend up to and less then three thousand give or take, I want to shoot black and white negative film, but I have only found a couple of Kodak films and a German one that I have never heard off, (I do not recall the name.) is there other black and white negative films out there? Crystal sync is important but not as much I believe I will mostly shoot silent and dub dialogue later, ala mariachi and in the neo realist manner. I have read some of your posts and I find that you fellas are very knowledgeable and I would appreciate any advice. By the way I’m in Austin texas if any of you guys are shooting down here, let me know so I can maybe get a refresher on the craft.

Hi Gerpala,

Welcome to Indietalk. I'm far from an expert on what camera you should buy...I'm assuming with your budget you're talking Super 8, 16, or Super16?

I'll defer to the many experts on this board, I'm sure they will pipe in .

CP-16. They are all crystal-sync because they are newsreel cameras and will fit your budget.

The 3k-ish figure is just for the camera allowance, right? Cost of film, processing & cine comes from elsewhere?

If you don't plan on using the camera a lot, you might consider getting one from a local rental-house. You'll spend way less than 3k and still get the job done. More money for other things.

Just a thought. :)