creative inspiration!

I have an interest in films, but I am also an artist, in the fine art sense. I have to fill a room with something for an art exhibition. It can be filled with anything, for people to come and look at? got any ideas? It's really important, i'm stressing about it. In other words, if you had the use of an empty room, what would u do or put in it? thanks.

Well, here's a few suggestions, in my own bizzarre world of suggestions:
-Music: adds flavor to whatever you are showing... pick maybe a few songs that inspire you during your creative process and have them playing in the exhibit.
-Video: If you can, get a projector to play something that either:
a) goes with the music, and loops. It's real artsy-fartsy. People will feel undermined by genius if you use film as a medium.
b) whatever you like really.
-Decorate: I would make the room the "show" itself. Put your paintings around, but have the room come alive with them, by throwing decorations that deal with your paintings all around
-Theme: Come up with a theme that decribes you. Maybe you're a creepy guy who lives in a basement. Transform that room into a creepy basement dwelling. Use furniture as part of the theme.

Here's an example scenario with all the above:
A small room (bachelor apartment). The TV is on, and it is playing a repeated image of color bars, flashing with the face of whoever inspires you. There is ambient trance music in the background, and a fog machine lightly sprinkling the room with shallow fog. There is an ashtray filled to the brim in the center, and paintings of yours are scattered on the floor, hanging on the walls crookedly, broken in half, or in the garbage. There are glasses of water everywhere, symbolizing your attempts to purify youself. The single lightbulb dangling from the ceiling is slowly moving, casting shadows everywhere. On the door to the room (if there is one), there is a sign saying: "Work in Progress"