• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Screenwriting Help

Hello, I'm a new filmmaker who's made/directed a couple movies which wre mostly failures ("The Un-Incredibles"; popular, but not that great; "The Un-Incredibles 2: Attack of the Pepsis"; don't go there; "High Noon"; short action flick that wasn't much; "Skipping School"; AWESOME beginning, but lame afterwards.)

I'm currently writing a new film-to-be I've titled "Death by Fire": an action flick with a bit of comic relief to make it easy to watch. Every time I've tried to write an action flick, I've started with an action sequence, which isn't an awesome idea. I know what my plot is (two secret agents are put in charge of a small gun capable of causing MASS GENOCIDE; they are chased by an underground terrorist organization), but it always seems so... so... LAME!

Please, if you can help me...

son, i think your beyond the point of help...

joking. just stick in there. every writer feels what he writes is lame or subpar, and it usually is, we just gotta keep lying to ourselves! thats what it's all about.

son, i think your beyond the point of help...

joking. just stick in there. every writer feels what he writes is lame or subpar, and it usually is, we just gotta keep lying to ourselves! thats what it's all about.

Yeah... I usually put down my own work, but I seriously need some help with making the movie more than just a ton of effects and action sequences. That's my problem; I'm too "action-y."

Structure... Plain and simple.

amfx22000 said:
Hello, I'm a new filmmaker who's made/directed a couple movies which wre mostly failures ("The Un-Incredibles"; popular, but not that great; "The Un-Incredibles 2: Attack of the Pepsis"; don't go there; "High Noon"; short action flick that wasn't much; "Skipping School"; AWESOME beginning, but lame afterwards.)