CCD swap?

I'm very new to this whole Digital Video thing, as I'm about to prove. Stay with me on this. When I was in high school, a friend of mine had managed to swap a small-block Chevy V-8 into his little '71 Datsun 510. What a pain! But it worked and DAMN was it fun!!

My question is, what would prevent some fairly gifted electronics-minded person from swapping out his 1/3" CCDs for some 1/2" or, what the hell, some 2/3" CCD's? Certainly, physical space might pose a problem. Re-bending (Re-refracting?) the light entering the camera. Some custom electronics, I suppose, but is it really out of the realm of doability. Are larger CCD's even available for purchase? Seems to me that anything can be hotrodded...right?

The type of car my friend had is referred to as a "sleeper". A boxy little Consumer Video camera with 2/3" CCD's, 4:4:4, High Def? Mini-Viper? Sleeper-cam!

Hit me! :)

This might be possible if you have a one chip camera. Even then it is doubtful. The firmware is designed around the chip used. With a 3 chip camera this would be next to impossible. A prism is used to split the light three ways and has the CCDs attached the the prism via an adhesive. These are very carefully aligned. Change them slightly and you're going to get really bad footage if any.

An excellent idea but I fear it isn't very viable :). For the time and cost you could buy yourself a better camera!

Actually though there are people working on 4:4:4 HD cameras. They are using CMOS cameras designed for use in medical applications etc and streaming the data (simply put) onto a hard disk. Pretty cool stuff!

Shaw said: