• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

In the beginning...

Hi, I'm new to this game,

I love short films and have got a great idea for one, but i'm not in the industry and would love to make this short. how do i go about making it independentley, do i need to rent equipment, how do i get it noticed etc.

are there any websites that contain this kind of info

any help would be much appreciated

cheers

gravy834

Your short film idea...

gravy834 said:
Hi, I'm new to this game,

I love short films and have got a great idea for one, but i'm not in the industry and would love to make this short. how do i go about making it independentley, do i need to rent equipment, how do i get it noticed etc.

are there any websites that contain this kind of info

any help would be much appreciated

cheers

gravy834

I would think that the first thing you want to do is write your short film screenplay. This way, you have something to leave with people AFTER you've made contact with them and discussed the possibility of collaborating with them to make your project.

There are way too many sites that can give you tips and tricks to mention here... Just take a few hours and hit Google up with your queries...

While you're writing, try to hit up the people you already know to see if they are willing to help... They might know someone that can also help you out. I am always amazed at the amount of people I personally meet who really don't know that much (if anything) about making a film but these same people almost always know someone who does...

As far as making it goes...

It all depends on your budget. You can rent everything you'll need or you can buy. I own all my own equipment because I want to keep working in the field. I imagine if you know up front that this will be a one-time shot, renting the equipment would be worthwhile. It all depends on you and how hard you are willing to work to get your project made.

One more thing...