Hey! I'm new here.

Hi all, I'm new. Just found this site, its great.

I'm in Highschool and I'm about to graduate, (can't wait).
I'm just learning about the film industry, I applied to some film schools.

Is it a good idea to go to film school or should you just emerge yourself into making films right away?

Last edited:
Hey there, new guy!

That's a very interesting question you ask... I believe there are going to be some widely disagreeing replies to that one. Lots of arguments can be made for both sides. :)

If you have the money get the formal education. It's a lot easier to learn from other peoples mistakes than only from your own. Anyway you can make all the mistakes you wan't durring school; they won't hurt as bad as in the real world. Then as you move into the real world, you will have a better idea of how to pull this stuff off and hopefully get paid.

Also get your education well under way while you are still young. if possible get your masters before you get married. It's next to impossible when you have a job, wife and children. Take it from me I'm there right now. I don't regret anything it's a matter of priorities.

Mike :)

Do it now! Make a film. Write a script. Film it. Get it out there.
And also... go to school.... lol
If you're a lucky guy/girl, you might catch a break, but don't ever count on it.
School will get you in the slow and patient way, but doing it is what gets you the most experience.
Balance them. I learnt ALOT from making films, but I still want that diploma on the wall.
By the way.... WELCOME!!!

:cheers:

-Logan-

I guess it's a matter of luck what ever way you go. You could get into it with no experience and meet the right people, or you could go to film school, get the brains but cant get anywhere because of bad luck. thats my opinion anyway but id say do both if you can.