Film scheduling software

Well, I'm playing with this new programme for film scheduling called:

Sunfrog Film Scheduling

I've never used anything like it before, so I don't really have anything to compare it too... but I thought I'd talk about it a bit, anyway.

_______

It's written by an IndieTalk boardmember, Mr Filmscheduling, btw.

I downloaded the 30-day trial from Sunfrog-Tech. You need the Microsoft .NET thing installed to use it. (At the download page you have the option to get that, too. That's a free thing from MS)

It allows you to enter all kinds of information about your upcoming film project, so you can be really organised when the shooting days arrive. Actors, contacts, props, locations, extras, decorations, sound FX, specific shots wanted, and more.

As you fill in more & more information, it makes keeping things straight much simpler. You can create checklists for just about anything you have entered... what scenes specific props are used in, which actors are needed for which days and when, Call Sheets, you name it. Want a breakdown of each actor and exactly which scenes they are in, and what pages they'll be doing? No problem. Want a list of the sets that a certain prop will be used in, total? No worry.

There are over a dozen reports that sort through all that data and display how they relate to other data items, from macro to micro scale. If that's not enough, you can export what you want to an Excel file and do some custom monkery.

_______

Now, I have to say that this is a bit too much for someone like me, who makes short shorts (half-day shoots) with minimal detail to keep track of. But if you are making films that require more than a single day of shooting, it might be something to take a look at.

The tutorial files should be in your "My Documents" folder.

I didn't use them too much; had too much fun imagining I had a million dollar budget, and entered all kinds of stuff in every category I could think of.