I HATE writing!

My peers tell me I’m a very talented writer, but there is almost nothing that I hate doing more. I f**king HATE writing! If I had a choice, I would stick with directing, cinematography, and nothing else. But since I don’t have this freedom, I’m stuck writing this damn feature film script. Grrr... The experience has been almost painful. I feel like kicking something.

If you were made to do something that you absolutely hated, how would you handle it? What kinds of rituals would you go through to retain your sanity?

hmmmmmmmm

cinematography said:
My peers tell me I’m a very talented writer, but there is almost nothing that I hate doing more. I f**king HATE writing! If I had a choice, I would stick with directing, cinematography, and nothing else. But since I don’t have this freedom, I’m stuck writing this damn feature film script. Grrr... The experience has been almost painful. I feel like kicking something.

If you were made to do something that you absolutely hated, how would you handle it? What kinds of rituals would you go through to retain your sanity?

You're a talented writer but hate to write. I've been there. I want to shoot my own film this summer but there's nobody to write it but me... I also hate the actual writing part so I try to find comfort in the execution and results I achieve especially when I think I'm really onto something... When you're really onto something, it makes the actual task of writing a little easier to accept.

Over the last year, I've found that preparation makes the writing part even easier to swallow... I used to just sit down and write my first draft. It would take me maybe six months... Now I take my little digital recorder with me and my index cards and brainstorm for scene ideas and character development and work on that stuff until I feel like I have a real handle on the basic idea, characters, theme, and premise of the story.