Please Help

I'm a begginer filmmaker. I want to buy an apple computer and a video camera. Is there any cheap video cameras that you can recommend, and an apple software that can improve the video camera picture, to make it look like a real life movie.
-Thank
Max

Hi Max, :welcome:

You will want something with firewire, to make transfering video into the mac easy. Without knowing an approximate budget, it's hard to be more specific about a recommendation.

You should be able to so virtually anything you need to with Final Cut Pro, as far as editing and filtering goes. FCP should have some options for obtaining a "Film Look"

Hi Max, I’m an Apple user so I might be able to help out.

There is no software that will make your picture look like the films you see in the theaters - especially with a cheap video camera. But the good news is, as a beginning filmmaker it will be a while before you are going to need a picture that’s good enough to show in the theaters.

Get what ever DV camera you can afford and start shooting. I just spent a week helping out a beginning filmmaker edit a short using iMovie - the free editing program that comes with most Apple computers. What a fine program for beginners! Good enough for a great looking DVD that you could enter in any film festival.

After you make 4 or 5 short movies you might want to bump up to Final Cut Express or even Final Cut Pro. By then you might be ready to shoot a feature on HD. And that’s closer to a real life movie!

Hey Max, can't really add to what Will and directorik said other than saying that you could get a nice Canon DV cameras for around $500, but it isn't about the camera or the software you use to edit, it's the story you tell.

Good Luck.

Poke

Macs can be nice, yes...

...but if you have a budget in mind, you may even consider getting your current PC up to speed instead.