Audio Question for cam corders..

As I have stated before, Im just learning Audio editing. I dont have any money and Im serious. I just bought 3D Studio Max 7 and that is much as I can get for a year. So this is what I've done..

I saw a guy who hooked up 4 uni directional mics for a makeshift surround sound Audio capture sound board. looks pretty crude, looks like an old TV antena you see on peoples roofs back in the 70s. but he said the quality was as good as some 1000 dollar mic sysems he tried. I need an amplifier. I went to radio shack and they dont sell small amps anymore. Im afraid I will fry out the sound chip in my expensive camera if I hook it up to my stereo amp. And the mics draw no power and the JVC doesnt have a hotshoe like the New Sony FX1 doesnt have. but the mics cut out all background noise and hums. Plus im trying to figure out how to get stereo off of them. I put left and right mono with a stereo 1/8th in jack and both mics go to left channel. :( i need a mixer and a small amp. any suggestions? I dont know jack about audio. These mics cost me only 30 bucks on sale, They're just some inexpensive Auditorium style mics. But no power. I can hear myself on the thing if its with in 3 feet from my face. but very faint. Its all i can do for now. I really think I will get some decent sound if I hang them above the camera and somehow draw power out of the mic or amplify what is and try and do it without hum or white noise.

Hi there Mr. Goldfish :)

I'm certainly not an audio expert either but I have had some experience in this area. First question is: what is it you are trying to achieve? Surround sound for movies? (just making sure I understand!)

About the amp connected to your camcorder: I honestly do not know. Do you have specs for the equipment you could post? That would help a bit. You shouldn't need a hot shoe (I think) to connect a pre-amp or mixer to your camera though.