film making books or dvd

i think i saw a post here the other day with some film making book recommendations, but i cant find it. if you see it just link it here, if not:

im in college and really want to do something with making movies or some type of film. i dont know much so want a couple books to learn about all the different things in film making (acting, directing, producing, cinemontography, cameras, mics/lenses/lighting, editing, etc...) i am just starting out so would need a book (or dvd) that will teach me from the beginning. what about film making for dummys? and i heard the creator of south park had a good book called something like go out and make a damn movie. what would yall all recommend?

I asked a similiar question in my first post I got some great responses.

Check out this thread.

If anyone has any more to add, my shelves are still pretty bare.

Last edited:
I just picked up a couple nice ones yesterday and today..

The Guerilla Filmmakers Blueprint (it's the followup to the 'Guide', and in my opinion much better) -- Chris Jones
ISBN: 0826414532

Directing Film Techniques and Aesthetics (3rd Edition) -- Michael Rabiger
ISBN: 0240805178

and this one looks to be helpful for screenwriting:

The Complete Writer's Guide to Heros & Heroines: Sixteen Master Archetypes -- Tami D. Cowden, Caro LaFever, Sue Viders
ISBN: 1580680244

-----

Then I would also recommend 'Directing Actors' by Judith Westin (ISBN: 0941188248)
as well as everything I mentioned in that post Mikey spoke of.

Not mentioned there or anywhere else yet.. I'm also looking at getting the followup to directing shot by shot: 'Film Directing Cinematic Motion: A workshop for staging scenes' by the same author. ISBNs: 0941188108 & 0941188140 respectively.

I'd recommend browsing through the bookstore (not necesarily to buy, but to see what he recommends) over at www.hollywoodu.com... Dov S-S Simens has some nice book recommendations, and he's put together some packages to help you choose.