As a filmmaker, how crucial is it to live in Los Angeles?

I currently live in California, about 6 hours from Los Angeles, and I'd like to be a filmmaker/screenwriter when I'm a little older (I'm 17 now). Screenwriting is my first passion; it's something I've been working on for about 3 years now (unlike filmmaking, which I'm still relatively new to). On other screenwriting forums like done deal pro, or in the many screenwriting books I've read, everyone stresses that in order to be a successful writer, you must live in Los Angeles. This makes a lot of sense. Since screenwriting tends to involve more selling than filmmaking, you need to be close to those who can give you writing assignments and other opportunities

Now, I've been wondering lately. Although I know it's crucial to live in LA if you want to be a successful screenwriter, how crucial is it to live in LA if you want to be a successful filmmaker? Is it really all that important? Why or why not?

Thanks!

Now, I've been wondering lately. Although I know it's crucial to live in LA if you want to be a successful screenwriter, how crucial is it to live in LA if you want to be a successful filmmaker?
Not crucial at all. One can make and market films without living
in Los Angeles. In some cases it may actually be an advantage
to not make movies in Los Angeles.

Depends! If you want to make it the traditional route - working as a PA, writer's assistant, etc., and waiting for your big break - LA is definitely the way to go. That or NY, but NY is kind of a distant second (and is super expensive).