Things to know when starting a company

I am a high school student and an avid film maker. I have built up a crew of dedicated people and want to start my own production company where we could make our own films as well as film local comercials and non profit programs. How do I get started?

Suggestion:

Keep an alternate plan in case things don't go well or you find out you like film more as a hobby.

If you want to pick up commercial clients, make a demo reel first so you have something to demonstrate your skill with.

If you haven't done any commercials yet to add to the reel, make some fake ones. 30 second fake beer ad, etc.

:)

Definitely get a real job, and run this on the side. My dad had a real steady job, and started his own business on the side. Ran that for about 4 years until we could live off of his business. Now we're Stupid Rich White Men! Sharing the wealth with those less fortunate! (well, depending on Nov. 2nd's results)

Satires aside, DEFINITELY get a real job, and use money from that to fund your production company. Get some talented staff and make something great for your demo as others have suggested, eventually, with enough time and talent the production company will become self sufficient and will (depending on success) be able to support itself and you, and your staff. So work hard (thats what my dad did, 80+hours a week sometimes) Hopefully you'll catch some breaks, not get edited by mgmt. on taxes and you'll make it big!

(might want to apply for an LLC license too)

Last edited by a moderator:
Was that a racial slurrr!? :crazy:

I have to agree some of the others... Start it on the side.. when you have enough money, make an LLC.
If you want to make money with a business, you need to know business. Write a business plan.
If you have a good foundation for a business, it will stand the test of time. We know you have a group of friends and have been making things, but business is business!