• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Sound Devices MM1 - questions

Hi

Will be filming my first movie shortly.

Film will be shot mostly inside (small apartment).

Audio will be captured using a boomed Audio-Technica AT4053B Hypercardioid Condenser mic linked to a Sound Devices MM1. The MM1 will be linked to a Tascam DR40.

I'm confused by 3 switches on the MM1.

High pass filter: 80, 160, off
User Guide says it is used to 'remove excess low frequency energy'. I'm not an audio pro so not sure what that means and when I should use it. If say there is some low background noise would I use say the 80 high pass filter then?

Peak Limiter: On, off
User Guide says ON 'Activates the peak limiter. Limits to +17db output'. I presume it's okay to always have this on?

Preamp Gain Switch vs Monitor In Gain switch
I understand what the 'Preamp Gain Switch' does (guide says ''selects the amount of gain from input to output, adjustable in 11 increments") but the 'Monitor In Gain' confuses me (guide says "Controls the level of Monitor Input signal"). If I adjust the 'Monitor In Gain' does that adjust the level of the output signal too? If so why are there two switches that basically do the same thing.​

I will do lots of testing but wanted to clarify the above prior to doing so. Just a tad nervous since brand new gear and this is my first production.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated.

Last edited:
User Guide says it is used to 'remove excess low frequency energy'. I'm not an audio pro so not sure what that means and when I should use it. If say there is some low background noise would I use say the 80 high pass filter then?