Do you need to act to direct?

I've heard a few different views on this, and am just curious about people's thoughts here.

I know many believe you need to have been an actor before you can direct actors - fair call.
I never really thought about this until recently. I was always the kid who hated singing, acting, public speaking (although I've forced myself to get more used to this), etc. I was never great at drawing and painting, and I was a mediocre musician at best. Which is why I think being behind a camera appealed to me. However, I've only done pretty low key stuff thus far, but as I look to expand my horizons a little, I am realising that the way I communicate with actors, and get better performances out of them, I am probably going to be limited by my lack of acting experience.

I am more than willing to read books and books on theory, but I'm sure this is a place where experience is key (I do have experience putting myself in front of a camera, so i know the uncomfortable-ness of it - but I wouldn't call it acting).

Thoughts?

Would I benefit from taking a summer/night acting course between uni breaks? (nothing would mortify me more, but I might be able to make myself do it to improve myself).

Do you need to act to direct?

No.

However, it's always nice to learn something new, and to gain an understanding of a different craft.

I took a few acting seminars when I started doing audio post. It probably made me a better Foley walker (I'm still only fair), and I have more empathy for those doing ADR.

Absolutely not.

Acting can help understand some mechanisms but is absolutely not a necessity to direct actors.

As a director, you have a vision in your mind. You can picture in your mind what you want. The same way you direct your DP to achieve the looks, you direct your actors to achieve the emotional position. And the same way you don't need to know how top operate a camera to direct a DP, you don't need to know acting to direct actors.