Production of documentary movie...

Production of documentary movie

I am not familiar with producing documentaries since my background is more in imagination stories so I'll need some help and explanations from the people who are more familiar with it...

Great idea stroke me about subject for my documentary. I't about musician and his friends who are traveling on two continents (N.America +Europe).Following them and their stories but in a specific way which I can not tell because it's still not registated nor copyrighted story:)
I have a concept and a "wishable" list of shots that I would like to have and then edit them. I deeply belive you can not direct documentary before editing process.
So my plan is basicly to hire camera and sound people (and myself) to achive as much as possible in terms of the "wish list of shots" and than edit and start selling a movie around...

But...

The thing where I am scared (I don't know that part of story)is legal and financial work:
How do you organise production of that kind of movie? I never worked on a documentary before...
I also assume that (mini) DV is quite a good option for broadcasting on TV and eventualy DVD market?

Is it better to form a company or just hit the road and shoot the footage as an guerilla?
I am afraid that later one could bring problems if I need to shoot some specific footage that demands going in the certain places, performance halls, private properties etc. who might ask for "official" way with permits ,budgets, paperwork (yes I can bribe them to get in and shoot inside but what if later on they sue me for attending and shooting footage on the event where I didn't had permit to shoot)?
Is it possible to obtain some financing (for traveling and basic costs of miscelanious equipment)
from independant sources who will not claim later that they own a movie because they paid for tapes and microphones?