Indie Projects Need Representation Too!

OK, so if there is a thread somewhere that already discusses this, I apologize and would appreciate an asskick in the correct direction. Otherwise...

I am a virgin producer/director with a horror/thriller feature film nearing completion. I live in Los Angeles (via Dallas, TX) and am currently seeking out a Producer's Representative to push the film and help me go to AFM.

While there are several Producer's Reps that are well-known (Litwak, Dowd, etc), where would I go to find more? I already have a current HCD (Agents&Managers) but the information there is not reliable.

(What I mean is, out of the Hollywood Creative Directory, most everyone says that they represent producers, but when I write/email/call them, they really only want KNOWN producers and projects with "names")

Any ideas? I'm not looking for an agent, nor am I looking for representation as a Director; I just need a Producer's Representative to represent my feature horror/thriller, BLOODSHED, and hopefully help me pre-sell my next horror feature.

Thanks!

Jim mcMahon
Producer . Director . BLOODSHED
www.drainbamagefilms.com

It's always best to approach a Producer's Rep once you've won an award, or have had reviews of your film published. Try to get your film reviewed.

Right, but with AFM approaching so quickly, my goal is to find someone to sell it and get video distribution, not festival it for a year and hit AFM 05...

Where would I get someone to review the film? It definitely needs to be a genre-type reviewer. This is no "Garden State..."

But the real question is still unanswered: where do I find these Producer's reps, other than the HCD...?

Jim

I my experience, the reps you've spoken to are the norm.

They work on commission only and it's a less than reliable chance to take when dealing with a first time producer/director with an unfinished movie.