Prop Money

I'm going to be making different kinds of prop money of my own designs (i.e colony of mars, fantasy, Syfi) and using real currency, but modifying the colors, serial numbers etc... and starting a thread on this site and giving them away incase people needs them and don't need to be bothered doing it themselves. Eventually, i'll take orders for unique designs and printing bulk orders but i'm not sure of the legality of this.

Here is a real 1917 bill

Front:
19171dollarfront.png

Back:
19171dollarback.png

I Removed the serial and added my own, and signatures and adjusted the color. If you look at the serial P181516, and that stands for

P
18 = R (18th letter in the alphabet)
15 = O (15th letter in the alphabet)
16 = P (16th letter in the alphabet)

This is the type of things i will do to all bils ranging from 1800's to newer... Will this be allowed?

This is the original bill

origib.png

I'm not a lawyer, and not a citizen of the US, so I can't advise you much on the legality - but I'd suggest that taking out the area which says 'this note is a legal tender for one dollar' will probably help.

I'm not sure about older bills but current bills have to either be 75% smaller, or 150% larger than an actual bill, or they can be the same size only if their printed in black and white (no color at all).

To avoid a criminal charge for possessing counterfeit money, the bills/coins must be different enough from any legal tender (foreign or domestic) so as to not be confused as genuine by an ordinary (read: stupid) person. If it looks even remotely like it could maybe possibly be real, or confused with real, it's against the law. If you attempt to present any non-genuine currency or notes/securities for payment of any debt, you will have committed the crime of counterfeiting/forgery in most states as well as federally.