Canon, Panasonic or Sony?

I am a newbie to filmmaking and I've been catching up on the various dv camera's being used for low budget/indie films. Is there much of a difference between the Canon XL-1S, Sony DSR series and Panasonic dvx100a? Which one would be the better choice quality wise?

It depends a lot on personal preference. I don't know a lot about Panasonic, but Canon is famous for making still cameras. As a result, their cameras have great lenses, which improves picture quality and, often, a Canon will have a 12x or 14x optical zoom where an equivilent Pan or Sony will only have a 10x optical.

Sony, on the other hand, manufacures electronics. They're cameras are a bit more rugged, they don't have that "plastic" feel that the Canons and Pans do. This is why a lot of rental places and film schools use the PD150s, VX2000s, and TRV900/950s over the Canon or Panasonic. They're more durable (I think their cases are titanium or some alloy thereof), and their knobs are less likely to break off in your hands.

I've handled both the Sony PD150 and the TRV900, and they're both quite easy to use, the PD150 a bit more so because its a little higher-end than the TRV. I haven't used the Canon or Pan at all, so I can't comment on that. Though, in my search for a camcorder thus far, I've found the Sony hand down is easier to oprate than the Panasonic or Canon - but I haven't tested very many.

The best thing to do imo is to check the internet. Just type in the camera you're looking at and you should get a good deal of reviews, and comparisons with other cameras.

Good luck!

And also, they now make the mini35 lens adapter for both of those cameras (used to be just the Sony).

The picture from Canon XL series cameras tends to be a little soft & very red. Sony generally gives a nice sharp picture with excellent skin tones. Panasonics are also sharper than the Cannons, & give better skin tones.

How much were you thinking of spending?