Can I use this music?

Ok, so I'm relatively new to all this, but optimistic and eager to learn!
I am currently working on a low/no budget short film that, when finished, I would ultimately like to enter into film festivals.
I have done a lot of research into all the aspects of filmmaking, especially the legal stuff (which can get so confusing with all this grey stuff inbetween, I know!). However, I am yet to find an answer to this question. I hope someone can help shed light on it :)

I want to have a music box playing in my film. I know there are some good royalty free/free to use tracks out there, but I would really like to be able to use the music from the actual music box! I know it is a piece from swan lake. I know swan lake was written in like the 19th century so this would make it public domain. However... :hmm:
Would I be able to record the music box playing? The music box has no markings or company name, so could I legally record the sound?

I know this probably sounds confusing... I think I have confused myself! But thanks for reading anyways :)

Now you're into one of those gray areas. The music itself is, as you stated, in the public domain. The arrangement - how it is reproduced by the music box - may still be under copyright. As you have no markings on the music box it will be close to impossible to track down.

It should be fairly easy to find a musician somewhere to use a "music box" patch from a synth or sampler to duplicate the music you want.

You could find a MIDI file online (and credit the person who created it of course), and there are many very high quality music box virtual instruments out there. I bet you could get someone to run the MIDI file through their music box VST with a touch of ambient reverb (so it sounds like it's in a room) for little to no cost.