What should I do?

I'm a poor college student. What camera should I get?

• The $3,300 Panasonic DVX100

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • A different "prosumer" camcorder under $1500

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Alright, I'm sure that this is the most repeated subject ever...which camera should I get? Here's my specific scenario:

I planned on saving up over the summer for a Panasonic AG-DVX100a ($3,300 give or take a few hundred). I currently have $1500 or so...and I mean that is ALL I have to my name!

I'm rethinking what camera I should buy. Should I lower my "camera budget" to $1500 and save up the rest of the summer for other equipment and...life savings for the future? If so, what is the best camera for a filmmaker under $1500?

I'd appreciate any feedback. Thanks guys!

By the way..I'm getting a new camera (and equipment) to make more professional looking movies. I would like to have a reputation for unique yet professional productions.

I'd suggest going with a cheaper camera, and you'll have some money in reserve for anything project-related you will inevitably find you'll need.

A top-dog camera may be nice to have... but all the extra gadgets & gizmos that come with it will not save a bad story, bad actors, bad lighting, bad framing, bad planning, bad you-name-it.

Some good, solid stories completed on a cheaper cam are worth more than no stories completed, but finally owning a fancy cam.

With the additional monies that would have been spent on a better camera, you might have put that directly into three or four small productions... cast/crew food, transport, props, knick-knacks from the rental shop, permits, expenses what-have-you.

Just an opinion. :shock:

Let me clarify that "bad whatevers" part of my post, btw.