Question about storyboarding.

In my first short film a lot of the storyboards were mis communicated to the DP. Basically if an actor went out of frame, the DP would not move the camera to follow that person, in his or her activity. She kept the camera still unless I said so. So for my next project I want there to be zero confusion. What's the professional way to write on the storyboard to move the camera if it cannot fit all the characters in, and what kind of movement as well? Thanks.

im by no means an expert but what I normally do is draw an arrow on the board to indicate the direction I want the camera moving in and i write something like camera tilts up/down, pans left/right etc.

Last edited:
It's also probably a good idea to collaborate with your DP before you shoot each scene. You should be actively discussing what you'd like to see happen with the camera, and he/she will probably have some professional opinions about camera movement.

The storyboard is great for getting everyone on the same page and keeping organized, but you shouldn't rely solely on it.

Um, yeah. No disrespect, but your DP sounds like she's not too swift. Most DP's (like me, for instance) would, um, ASK THE FREAKING DIRECTOR if there was any question about the shot! Storyboards are just a jumping-off point.

This totally reminds me of the scene in Spinal Tap:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTZXp0dSzTw

My favourite is where he is talking about the amp going to 11, the interviewer asks him why not make 10 louder, he pauses and says "yeah but this one goes to 11"

Love that movie so much.

Maybe have a meeting with the DOP before hand and make sure there isn't any confusion. I don't think you could ever be over prepared.

Cattle Prod! See, it IS my answer for everything!

Seriously though, if you want a particular result (more camera movement), you will need to communicate that. If you're not getting that, say so.