Canon 600D - Thoughts? Wisdom?

Hey,

I've lurked these forums for a while now but have never really had anything worth contributing. Bob Dylan said some shit about the times once, anyway.. I seek aid!
I've spent about a year tuning filming and editing techniques with a Sony HDR CX110 and the time has come for an upgrade. I'm studying and working a part-time job at a cinema at the moment and funds are scarce, which means I have my eye on a camera (excuse the pun) within my price range but still something that will keep me busy and satisfied for at least the next wee while. Something that is going to record professional looking footage but at the same time take a great still (video being priority). I'm not worried about audio, I'm somewhat the musical type so I have a decent condensor mic for my vocal/voice booth (a Rode NT1-A) on hand and my next purchase will be a boom mic and a portable audio device.

I've been doing a bit of research and I've come up with this - the Canon EOS 600D
It seems to do be able to do everything I want it to for the price I want to pay. Am I making the right decision?
I've found one for $699 AUD ($900NZD for me and about $730 USD for some of you) through a Hong Kong distributor which comes with a Canon EF-S18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 IS II kit lens to get me started.
What other cameras should I be looking at in this price range and why? Thanks.

Much appreciated.

Last edited:
Conventional wisdom seems to indicate that this camera is the best choice for video in that price bracket. The Nikon 5100 is also a consideration but doesn't allow manual exposure control while shooting like the 600D. If you moved up to the Canon 60D, the benefits are more for stills rather than video (eg. higher rate for continuous still shooting and more focus points).