Question concerning: Canon 7D, Fotodiox Adapter and old Nikon lenses...

Hello All,

Been making films for some time now but not a big tech guy. Just got a 7D and bought a couple $16 Fotodiox lens adapters for Nikon. Now I'm on a quest to locate some old Nikon lenses on EBAY. The problem is I'm not 100% if they will connect to my Canon 7D w/ Adapter. How can I make sure? My gf has an older Canon Rebel and her lenses are too small for my 7D. Don't want to buy any small lenses. Here's a link to a couple lenses on Ebay that caught my eye...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nikon-Nikkor-50-mm-F-1-8-Lens-Vintage-/140718432020?pt=Camera_Lenses&hash=item20c378df14

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nikon-Series-E-28mm-1-2-8-Camera-Lens-VINTAGE-JAPAN-/200713433977?pt=Camera_Lenses&hash=item2ebb73f379

Basically how do I know these lenses are the right size for my 7D. Yes I know I'm a newb when it comes to cameras. Sorry ha. Thanks in advance to any help!

You make sure you match the lens mount to the nikon mount of the adapters you bought.

I recently bought a package deal off of ebay with a film camera and 3 lenses. All of the lenses were M42 mount. I made sure of this because I knew adapters for this mount are only about $7. So I now have 3 lenses that I got with the adapters $75 max.

Just make sure the lens mount matches the mount of your adapter and you'll be good.

I'm pretty sure Nikon hasn't changed their mount much, even when they started producing smart lenses with autofocus and what not. Those should work, just make sure they're all manual controls. The newer lenses will match up to the adapter but you can't open the aperture without a Nikon body.

The older lenses that your girlfrind has are most likely Canon FD lenses and won't fit directly to the newer Canon EF cameras. However, you can buy an adapter for your 7D and use those lenses instead of buying Nikon. The cost of an EOS to FD adapter will be cheaper than buying Nikon lenses...