View Full Version : Will this new rig be able to handle HD editing (Asking before purchase)


MTsquared
03-04-2012, 12:46 AM
(Sorry if it's in the wrong area) I will be purchasing a new rig to handle the footage my new GH2 gives me because my current computer just can't handle the editing of it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125401

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115074

With
8GB of RAM
2.5 TB of storage ( I know I'll eventually need more)

Is the i5 sufficient, or do I NEED an i7 processor? This whole setup (which I didn't list all of it) is near the limit of my budget and the near double the price for the i7 is really pushing it. This may seem like a waste of a post but I have never edited with HD before and am not sure if the i5 processor I posted will work properly and would like advice before purchasing. Thanks for your time. -MT

Zensteve
03-04-2012, 12:54 AM
This whole setup (which I didn't list all of it)

With so many variables introduced by all the parts, you really should list everything.

Also, what software package you'll primarily be editing with.

Fwiw, that gfx card & motherboard are both superior to mine. Since I use Adobe CS4, however, I can't edit DSLR footage natively so there's a lot of transcoding (and extra HD storage) required.

2.5 TB of storage

Don't keep all your eggs in one basket. Just sayin'. :cool:

MTsquared
03-04-2012, 01:07 AM
With so many variables introduced by all the parts, you really should list everything.

Also, what software package you'll primarily be editing with.

Fwiw, that gfx card & motherboard are both superior to mine. Since I use Adobe CS4, however, I can't edit DSLR footage natively so there's a lot of transcoding (and extra HD storage) required.



Don't keep all your eggs in one basket. Just sayin'. :cool:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827151244

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115074

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152181

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125401

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371031

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231422

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157271

Windows 7 Home Premuim. I want CS5 Premiere/After effects, but for right now I'll probably be using "Lightworks", although I have no current experience with it.

(I just use Handbrake to change my DSLR footage into Mpeg4, in which I imported into premiere, which I then found out my computer lags too much. But hey, at least I know handbrake workd for changing the format without quality loss too!)


I'll be having the computer's OS drive plus multiple DIFFERENT external harddrives. I've had the horrid experience of an external drive just deciding it needed to be reformatted before I could use it again. I had my dozens and dozens of dvds copied onto it. Which meant I got to copy them all over a second time because of it. Now I keep all important files on more than one drive.

Zensteve
03-04-2012, 01:12 AM
(I just use Handbrake to change my DSLR footage into Mpeg4, in which I imported into premiere, which I then found out my computer lags too much.

I transcode to HD-sized mpeg2 for CS4, and it runs slick as a whistle. Maybe give that shot?

Mpeg2 is native default filetype for HD in Adobe, up through CS4.

MTsquared
03-04-2012, 12:55 PM
But build-wise, will this be able to handle HD?

Anim8
03-04-2012, 11:52 PM
I would get more ram.... The most you can afford. That will make a difference while previewing your footage in you NLE.
The i5 will work fine.

MTsquared
03-05-2012, 09:02 PM
Ok, thanks.