Another Lens Build Questions from a video noob

I’m a noob – both to this board and to digital video. I do have a limited photography background so I understand the basics (aperture, shutter speed, differences between zoom and prime, etc). But, I’ve never done video other than of the kids on a small hand held.

I have a Canon T2i. I have the standard poor kit lenses that came with the camera as well as a Canon 85mm /1.8 that I love so far.

I believe the best route for me is to continue with my t2i and put the capital into the lenses at this point (instead of upgrading my camera).

I know this has probably been asked up one end and down the other on this board so I appreciate the patience. Because I already have the prime 85/1.8 how might some of you add to build a good overall kit for video for narrative film making?

Should I continue to build a prime kit and slowly add good lenses over time? Should I have a mix of prime and zoom.

There are budget concerns as I don’t want to spend any more than say $1200 or so for my next purchase.

Possibilities:

Sticking with prime and going 50/1.4 at around $400 and then adding a 17 or 24mm and foregoing the macro for now?

Or Sigma 30mm/1.4 at $500 and adding a 70 – 200 /2.8 zoom (sigma). The problem here is that I probably will upgrade my camera at some point. So we could throw the canon 28mm 1.8 into the equation as well.

I’m not sure either of these options cover the range I’ll need though?

I’ve also looked at going zoom:

Sigma 17 – 50 at $600
And then save up for the 70 – 200 2.8 (or getting the tamron)

I’m a little in the dark and don’t want to pull the trigger before getting some advice from those in the know.

I do appreciate it.

G'day Jesse,

I've always been a fan of versatility so my knee jerk reaction is to go with the zoom lenses first and THEN worry about primes.