Start my own business?

Ok, so I am extremely new to film making. I know next to nothing but am learning something new everyday. I had a conversation with a friend of mine (also no experience with film) about actually creating a business for my projects. Is this one of those "no brainer" things that everyone does? How exactly would you go about doing this? Is it really as easy as just going out and getting a business licence?

A separate topic that we discussed: When I find the actors that I want to use do I need any kind of contracts or any other legal paperwork done for them? I was thinking of having a contract written up that gives the cast and crew a parentage of any money made off of the film. Is this a good idea?

Basically any advice related to this area of film making would be extremely helpful.

Thanks - Chris :)

G'day Chris,

First of all - there's a LOT of information out there about setting up and managing a business and the key to having it successfully run is to research, research, research!

Secondly, all of this depends on where you are.

In Australia, for instance, it's as simple as registering a business name and a business number. Here we have different types of businesses, however; corporations, registered businesses, sole traders etc. The US, for instance, has a distinction between an LLC and other types of businesses. The type of structure you choose will directly affect how your business operates! For instance, a sole trade in Oz means you pay for everything and make all the money... but what happens if you get sued? Well, the lawyers can get their hands on your personal assets in addition to any money you may owe... Limited Liabilites are exactly what they sound like - designed to help limit the liability and to have a clear separation between business and personal.