Canon 7D questions...

I should start by saying that I'm new to the whole DSLR world.

A pawn shop by my house has 7D for sale for $1000 that I'm interested in buying. But while looking through the viewfinder, it appears a little cloudy. I tried it with two different lenses, but get the same result. The camera had no power so I couldn't turn it on to see what the LCD looked like.

My question is, is the cloudiness normal in a viewfinder? I've only ever used video cameras and never had to use a viewfinder like the one on this camera. If it's not normal, is it a red flag to not buy the camera? Should I get my hands on a charged battery to look at the LCD screen?

Any help is appreciated?

No, no it's not, and it can be due to a number of things, from moisture, that might go away with time, to fungus, that can spread to your gear, lenses, and bags, it's a bitch to clean, and can ruin thousands of dollars worth of equipment.

I wouldn't do it.

Was the cloud in the eyepiece or farther in the image?

Eyepiece, that's 99% of the time condensation. You can wipe it off with a towel/shirt/etc. Otherwise, it's something else. Look at the mirror when the lens is off, is it cloudy? Also, look through the lenses apart from the camera, can you see through it ok?

Finally, do you know anyone with a 7D you can bum a lens, memory card and battery off of?You could then snap some pics in the store and see what it looks like.

But yeah, without further tests I'd stay away. The photo store here charges a couple hundred to really clean the camera. You can find a used 7D in great shape for $1300 pretty easy.

Do you want it for video? If so, it's a poor choice, the Rebels have the same image and more features and are a lot cheaper. 7d is a very good still cam though.
The one you're looking at seems like a especially bad one.