• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Sound Design Project - Looking for Material To Work To

Hi there, I'm a university student studying at the University of Teesside in the north east of England and i'm doing my final year case study on sound design and post production.

I'm looking for some material to work to for my project. My first choice would be a monster/creature movie short or something similar. I'm trying to approach this project as a 'working sound designer' so hope to work to a brief produced by the director of the movie. The idea is i can then receive feedback based on the brief and this feedback will help determine whether or not i have achieved my goals and the wishes of the director.

I hope someone can help me out with this. Apologies if i've posted this in the wrong place :blush:

Thanks in advance.

D Kirby

There are literally thousands of public domain films, shorts, commercials, home movies, etc. on the Prelinger Archives.

http://www.archive.org/details/prelinger

You may not find monsters or creatures, but then again...

Creature/monster sounds are a lot of fun, until the director doesn't like them, and then the director does but the producer doesn't, then the producer does but the director doesn't...