dSLR as filmmaking tool

Hey guys.

I'm currently in my second year of university and I'm researching the use of DSLRs in filmmaking/as a filmmaking tool. As part of that, I'd love to get the perspective of people who have experience using a dSLR for their productions. If any of you could spare a couple of minutes and answer the following questions for me, I'd be eternally grateful!

1. What DSLR do you use for filmmaking?
2. How long have you used it for?
3. What are the advantages of DSLR filmmaking?
4. What are the disadvantages?
5. How do you overcome said disadvantages?
6. What equipment (lenses, support, etc.) to do use along with the DSLR?
7. How many films have you produced using a DSLR? (Links to either full films or trailers would be appreciated!)

And, if there is anything esle you wanted to add, please feel free.

Thanks in advance!

T2i canon

for about a year (damn time flew by!)

great image for cheap price

lack of good sound

by getting an external audio recorder

50mm 1.4 lens
18-55mm 3.4 lens
100mm 1.8 lens
tripod
diy shoulder mount

7. How many films have you produced using a DSLR? (Links to either full films or trailers would be appreciated!)
little more than a dozen. All of them are on youtube.com/dlevanchuk

Hey guys. 1. What DSLR do you use for filmmaking?
I have used the Panasonic GH1, Canon 60D, and Panasonic GH2 on various short films. The GH cameras are technically EVIL(Electronic Viewfinder Interchangeable Lens) cameras, but they tend to have the same capabilities and are lumped together with DSLRs.

I started with the GH1 in 2010. My camera of choice now is the GH2.
The features they offer at such a low price point. Large sensor, interchangeable lenses, better image quality than any other camera under $5000. I also shoot using the JVC GY-HM100. While I love the GY-HM100, it's image quality simply does not live up to the GH2 or other DSLRs in most situations.