• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

sound equipment help

Hello! I' m new to film making and film making forums. I think it is an excellent platform for new comers like me. now, to the real problem. i've always been interested in film making and documentaries and recently, i got the chance to step in the field. there is a competetion here for making a 25 minute documentary with your mobile phone ( weird i know) but it is college campus thing! Though they say that the docu can be made with the cellphone and luckily i've a nice phone which can shoot upto 720p and gives out excellent quality. My problem is that the sound quality is no good. And the rules don't say anything about using external equipments ( i checked by asking too!) i've to take some interviews and some outdoor shots. So, my question is how do i solve the audio problem? Being a student i'am on a budget.
Any help is highly appreciated. So ACTION!! :lol:
Thank you!

Mmm... 25 minutes of documentary on a phone? Sounds interesting, its even weirder than me making a 2 minute action movie trailer style video for my university's video competition. Lol, but that time i was about to use a canon 60D

Anyway, so what's your budget? And what sound equipments have you already got?

My guess is that some entries will have music and/or sound fx added in the edit, and those were not recorded with the onboard audio, so with that in mind, why should dialog have to be recorded with the on-camera audio? Maybe ask the contest host if you can add pre-recorded music and you'll have your answer to recording dialog wth external equipment.

Another option is to find someone else with a phone, and get it close in to record the dialog while using other other phone, from a distance appropriate for proper framing to record the image. Then synch in post.