Consumer vs Prosumer for small price difference?

I was just searching through BH photo. I came across these:

Canon Vixia HFG 10 on sale for $1399. Its listed as a consumer camcorder

Then under Prosumer there is this:

Panasonic AG HMC40 on sale for $1695 (not listed but thats what it sells for)

As I am not an expert on cameras, just glancing at it , why wouldn't you buy a prosumer camera for a few hundred dollars more? One that has a manual focus (okay thats what I like).

What is it about the Canon camera that would be more appealing? - Aside from the fact that it is small. Becauase in truth, I think spending over a grand on a consumer camera is quite high...but thats why I am posting this...because I really don't know.

Thanks

I wouldn't worry about the labels they put on these cameras, it's all marketing nonsense. The terms "Professional", "Broadcast", "Prosumer" are essentially meaningless. Get the camera that has the features you need at the price you can afford.

Did you come across it at B and H or somewhere else? ;)

What brianluce said, its all BS. The XA10 is about 500 bucks more than the HFG10 and its considered "professional" even though its the same exact camera but with a handle and xlr inputs.

Don't worry about what they call cameras and just look at what features they have and what is useful for you.

There might be little things -- you might not be able to turn the audio AGC off on a consumer model whereas the prosumer you can for instance. Also, perhaps miniplug inputs only vs XLR jacks. Check everything!

Good luck.

I would love manual focus but I cannot find one in the consumer range that offers it.
As far as XLR cables, I think most Vixias can handle that? Perhaps with an extra cable? I know the media center has Vixia cameras and use Beachtech with them.