• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch Desert Run! A 3d animation short

The car looks good, but the desert looks weird.

yeah, I was a noob so I didn't know much about textures yet and how the light reacts with stuff. I started from a few angles that seemed ok, but then like... 80 hours in I was like "ah, the sand looks like crap".

I was more concerned with making the movement look realistic though, and the actual process of animating. Since then I've learned quite a bit, but I'm held back by my hardware. For example, in the project I'm working on now I need a parking lot. I wanted to apply some texture to make it look like real pavement... but when I hit that render button my computer basically said "F-U". So I have to make that tradeoff and just try to get the color to seem like its pavement and try not to draw much attention to it.

It's a good first effort, I understand about the textures, it's hard to learn when frames are taking 50 minutes each, so I do test animations without the textures also.

I do kind of wonder about your color choice on the car though. Almost anything else would have stood out more. You colored the car nearly the same color as the desert. And why no red taillights?

Camera angles were ok, and direction was pretty good at times.

It's a good first effort, I understand about the textures, it's hard to learn when frames are taking 50 minutes each, so I do test animations without the textures also.

I do kind of wonder about your color choice on the car though. Almost anything else would have stood out more. You colored the car nearly the same color as the desert. And why no red taillights?

Camera angles were ok, and direction was pretty good at times.