Panasonic AG-DVX-100

I've heard nothing but praise for the AG-DVX-100, but it was some time ago, at the moment I'm looking for a nice 24fps camera under the 3.5k mark. The AG seems to be a good choice -- but I have no experience so I'm pretty much looking for recommendations for a decent low budget cam -- quality is also a bonus :)

From the word on the street, the DVX100 is the camera to have. I'm going to order one next week. I'm a film shooter by trade, I own an Arri SR 16mm camera package, but realize I have to offer DV too.

Scott

a sample of what DVX100 can do...

Hey guys, I'm a producer here in LA. Here's a link to a short film that we shot with two Panasonic DVX 100. This was part of a national competition out of NY in which we ultimately placed 2nd out of 270 teams globally. Also check out the January 2004 issue of Wired Magazine. There will be a feature story on myself and my team in NY. Thanks...please feel free to PM with any questions regarding this camera. Personally I think it's a steal of a deal if you know how to light it properly. I know commercial shooters that use this as their primary camera and the car dealerships that they work for haven't noticed at all that the commercials changed from a DSR 500 (about 10-15k camera) to this DVX 100. Beautiful depth of field. Great camera.

www.dosgringos.us/movies/elegy.html

Hey Tuscany,

Great little flick. I would suggest you post this in the screening room. I'm sure it would get high marks.

Also, do you have any plans to sell it for distribution? I am a short watching fiend on IFC, Atom Films, and IFILM, and I think your short would do well if you put it out there.

Poke

I recently shot a short film with the DVX100, and aside from image stabilization had no problems at all. Definitely worth every penny. If lit correctly, it does have a film look to it.

el guapo said: